Thursday, February 09, 2006

Show Post: In House #1553

It wouldn't necessarily be an overstatement to say that Scott McCaughey's Minus 5, originally dreamed up as a side act, have become the focus of McCaughey's creative output, whereas his regular gig as frontman of the Young Fresh Fellows has been put on the backburner. It doesn't hurt, one supposes, when he has talents like Wilco, Colin Meloy and Harvey Danger's Sean Nelson clamoring to help him out. And so it is that, besides the Minus 5 themselves, which at this point includes McCaughey, R.E.M.'s Peter Buck and whomever happens to be filling in as the rhythm section that day, the eponymous new release from the band (also being billed The Gun Album) includes guest spots from a talented cast of thousands-- including everyone metioned above, plus John Wesley Harding, Kelly Hogan and John Moen. Surprisingly, as would be expected to happen in most such cases, the music doesn't suffer, the result being an at times twangy mix of the Beatles, Big Star and Buffalo Springfield (and those are just the B's). The new release came out this week on Yep Roc.

In House #1553.
Airdate: 2/09/06
Focus: New releases from the Minus 5, The Minus 5, and Kelley Stoltz, Below the Branches, plus new music from Loose Fur, Jenny Lewis and more.

From the new Minus 5 album:
"Twilight Distillery" (MP3) and "Hotel Senator" (MP3).

From Kelley Stoltz's Below the Branches:
"Memory Collector" (MP3) and "The Sun Comes Through" (MP3).


In House PODCAST #59


Post a Comment

<< Home